Library Databases

All databases can be accessed within the library. For remote use, you will need a valid MPLD library card. Click on the name of the database and enter your library card number.

Alphabetical Listing of all Databases

 

Arts & Music

BIR Entertainment | Find music or videos featuring a favorite artist or performer, or a specific genre. Currently information about 450,000 music titles and 200,000 DVD/video titles.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

Biography & Genealogy

American History Online |  In library use only. New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS) is the country's leading resource for family history from the 17th century through the 20th century.

Ancestry Library Edition™ | In library use only. Complete U. S. Census records for 1790-1930, including military records, court, land and probate records, vital and church records, directories, passenger lists and more.

Bloom's Literary Reference Online | Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias and specialized biographical reference sources.

Heritage Quest A collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, Federal Censuses, and other genealogical content.

Modern World History Online People, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

Books & Literature

Book Index Reviews Provides information on more than 5 million book titles, in a wide range of formats. BIR also contains 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews.

First Search  Search WorldCat for books, music, movies as well as full-text articles from magazines, medical journals, government publications. Includes 16 different databases.

From home: Click on this remote link.

NoveList Plus  A comprehensive reading resource for adult readers for fiction and nonfiction.

NoveList K-8 Plus A comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction with a fun and intuitive interface for younger readers.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

Business & Investing

Financial Ratings Series Online Financial strength ratings for more than 21,000 institutions, including banks, savings & loans, credit unions and insurers. Investment ratings for more than 6,000 stocks and 16,000 mutual funds.

Illinois Public Records  Public records for Chicago area real estate transactions, mortgages, foreclosures. Sort by name, city, zip code.

From home: Click on this remote link.

Morningstar Investment Research CenterThis database offers analysis on 1,700 stocks, 2,000 mutual funds and 300 exchange traded funds (ETFs). While it is primarily designed as a tool for investors, it is also an excellent place to get quick information on a company.

From home: Click on this remote link.

Value Line In-library use only. Inquire at the Questions Desk. Comprehensive, investment research tool used by individuals and professionals to conduct basic research, formulate investment strategies, identify opportunities and make investment decisions.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

Careers & Employment

DemographicsNOW: Business & People  Detailed U.S. demographic, business, and residential data.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center Provides profiles of nearly 3,400 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, thousands of resource entries, and more!

Job & Career Accelerator Get detailed information on occupations that suit your interests. Access current job listings from more than 5 million job postings, which are collected from all major job boards. Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, and plan, tailor, and track your progress for multiple job searches. This database is part of LearningExpress Library (below), which can help you aquire the skills and take practice tests needed for your new job.

From home: Click on this remote link.

LearningExpress Library  Interactive test preparation guides and practice tests, skillbuilding, workplace skills and job search resources.
From home: Click on this remote link.   First time users: Your username is your library card number then create a password of your choice.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

Cars & Consumer Information

Chilton's  Automotive Repair Information for Do-It-Yourself-ers. Chilton's provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks.

Consumer Reports Online Offers independent test results and ratings of thousands of products, including appliances, cars, baby & kid products, electronics, foods, health & family recreation & home improvement Information that empowers consumers to make the best purchasing decision.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

Encyclopedias & Almanacs

Encyclopedia Britannica  Full-text articles from the complete encyclopedia. This is the library edition.

From home: Click on this remote link.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources.

Grolier's  Contains three encyclopedia databases — The New Book of Knowledge, The new Book of Popular Science, and Amazing Animals. From home: Click on this remote link.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

Health & Wellness

Materials contained in these resources are intended for informational purposes only.

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health | Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.

Health Reference Center Gives clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

History & Geography

A to Z Maps Online The worlds largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.

American History Online | Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.

Culturegrams   Learn about each country’s history, customs, government, and general attitudes. Listen to the national anthem, view photos, and try recipes. Read interviews in which people from around the world describe their challenges, ambitions, and everyday lives.

From home: Click on this remote link.

Modern World History Online Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present.

Sources in U.S. History Online: The Civil War   A series of archival digital collections. The Civil War digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time -- personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

Languages

Mango Languages   Includes Spanish, French, Russian, Mandarin Chinese, and Japanese and ESL courses for those learning English and a translation tool for written text.  Create a Mango account to keep track of your progress in the lessons.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

Learning Resources

Job & Career Accelerator Get detailed information on occupations that suit your interests. Access current job listings from more than 5 million job postings, which are collected from all major job boards. Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, and plan, tailor, and track your progress for multiple job searches. This database is part of LearningExpress Library (below), which can help you aquire the skills and take practice tests needed for your new job.

From home: Click on this remote link.

LearningExpress Library  Interactive test preparation guides and practice tests, skillbuilding, workplace skills and job search resources.
From home: Click on this remote link.
  First time users: Your username is your library card number then create a password of your choice.

Check the Events Calendar for related programs.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

Magazines & Newspapers

General Reference Center Gold  A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

World News DigestAll major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.

Zinio Digital Magazines Includes premiere magazines. For tablet, iPad, computer or Wi-Fi enabled devices.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

Phone Numbers

DemographicsNOW: Business & People   Detailed U.S. demographic, business, and residential data.

Top

 

Science & Technology

Science Online Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center   A full-text database that provides step-by-step maintenance and repair procedures for hundreds of small engine machines and their components.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top

 

Social Issues

Issues and Controversies Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.

Search the McHenry Public Library Catalog.

Search Overdrive for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Top